TCA Presents Top Chiropractic Awards at Chiro Texpo '18
Written by Editor   
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 11:56 AM

AUSTIN, JUNE 12 – The Texas Chiropractic Association honored some of the state’s top Doctors of Chiropractic at its annual President’s Gala at Chiro Texpo ’18, TCA’s annual convention, held June 8-10 at the Hyatt Regency Dallas.

William E. Morgan, DC, president of Dallas-based Parker University, received the Keeler Plaque. The Keeler Plaque is the most prestigious award presented to a Doctor of Chiropractic (DC) in Texas. Established in 1934 by Dr. Clyde Keeler, this award recognizes the chiropractor of the year in Texas. The winner is selected by a panel of past Keeler Plaque winners.

Don White, DC, of Fort Worth was selected for the Young Chiropractor of the Year Award. This award is presented to a chiropractor under the age of 40 who has made significant contributions to TCA and the chiropractic profession in Texas. White currently serves as chair of TCA’s Legislative Affairs Committee.

Award winners included:

  • President’s Award – Tom Hollingsworth, DC, of Corpus Christi. This award is presented by the outgoing TCA president to a member for outstanding service to the president and TCA.
  • Board of Directors’ Award – Jay Morgan, DC, of Austin. The TCA Board of Directors selects an individual who has made significant contributions to the success of the Board.
  • H. Ford Johnson Memorial Award – Alayna Pagnani-Gendron, DC, of Houston. This award was established to recognize a person who best represents service to TCA and contributes to the association’s membership growth.
  • Rising Star Award – Michael Ponce, DC, of El Paso. This new award recognizes a chiropractor with a passion for TCA and chiropractic in Texas.
  • Executive Director’s Award – Sandra Hughes, DC, of Houston. Dr. Hughes is the vice president of administrative services at Texas Chiropractic College in Pasadena. This award was created to honor an individual for his or her efforts to help TCA staff over the past year.
  • TCA Friend of Chiropractic Award – ChiroMatrix. Based in San Diego, Calif., ChiroMatrix is a provider of affordable marketing services. This award recognizes individuals and companies who heavily support TCA and chiropractic in Texas.

 In addition, TCA honored Doctor of the Year winners in all 12 TCA districts. Winners included:

  • District 1 Doctor of the Year – Edward Rowland, DC, Odessa
  • District 2 Doctor of the Year – Jon Blackwell, DC, Amarillo
  • District 3 Doctor of the Year – Steve Van Osdale, DC, Lubbock
  • District 4 Doctor of the Year – Don White, DC, Fort Worth
  • District 5 Doctor of the Year – Andrew Oteo, DC, The Colony
  • District 6 Doctor of the Year – Monte Horne, DC, Sulphur Springs
  • District 7 Doctor of the Year – Lorin Wolf, DC, Early
  • District 8 Doctor of the Year – Gerard Liboiron, DC, Round Rock
  • District 9 Doctor of the Year – Stacey Rodgers, DC, Conroe
  • District 10 Doctor of the Year – Orlan L. Fikes, DC, San Antonio
  • District 11 Doctor of the Year – Tony Branker, DC, Houston
  • District 12 Doctor of the Year – Ray Freeman, DC, Victoria