Texas Medical Board Assumes Regulation of Four Occupations
Written by Editor   
Monday, October 12, 2015 06:37 AM

Senate Bill 202 transferred four occupational regulatory programs from the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas Medical Board (TMB).  Current rules in effect for these occupational programs will continue to be in effect until amended by TMB.  The four occupations are:

  • Medical Physicists,

  • Medical Radiologic Technologists,

  • Perfusionists, and

  • Respiratory Care Practitioners

These professions will now be regulated by the TMB and each occupation’s respective board/advisory committee.  Early in September the TMB started accepting new complaints on all new license/certification types, and early in October TMB scheduled to begin accepting all applications for new licenses/certifications.

In the fall, TMB will be issuing formal notifications to all existing licensees and certificate holders with additional information on renewals. Current active licensees and certificate holders do not need to do anything at this time regarding these changes. Please continue to renew following your normal schedule. 

Source:  http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/sb202-license-transfer